Virginia Tint Law
Virginia Tint Law
Virginia's Tint Law covers the use of colored and reflective window tint. The use of yellow, red or amber tints is prohibited. But, the other tints are allowed. Read on to learn the rules and penalties for breaking these laws. There are many exemptions to the law, therefore you should read the law carefully prior to purchasing or applying window tint. Additionally, it's important to note that medical exemptions exist for tint. Below are some of the most common legal violations.
In Virginia it is possible to get an exemption to medical reasons for window tinting if you're in a position to not comply with the law regarding tinting. A doctor's note informing you of medical reasons to tint your windows is required for this authorization. Your doctor should sign the letter. The letter should also contain your name along with your birth date and the the reason you want to tint your windows. The letter should be taken in your vehicle at all times, and should be handed to an officer of the police in the event of an investigation.
Drivers who suffer from certain medical conditions must get tinting fitted to their windows. This is to block the sunlight's reflection. Virginia tint law allows tinting that extends to the top of the vehicle's windshield. For the rear of a vehicle the tint should be above the manufacturer's AS-1 line. The side and rear windows could be tinted up to 35 percent darker than the manufacturer's AS-1 line. The medical exemption for tinting windows is a great idea if you're worried about the effect of the sun's glare on your vision.
Visible Light Transmission percentage
Virginia Tint Law restricts the amount of tint you can apply to your vehicle. This is determined by the Visible Light Transmission percent, or VLT. In Virginia the higher the VLT indicates that more light is able to traverse through. A lower VLT means that less light can pass through However, it's illegal to tint your windows. The law also differs for multi-passenger vehicles.
Before applying a tint to your windows, make sure the film you're using is approved by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You must then submit a valid form from a licensed medical practitioner. It is then submitted along with the application form to the DMV. If you're approved, you'll get an authorization card, which serves as legal evidence that your tint was installed to treat medical issues.
Variations in tints
Reduce the tint of your windows and windshield and save hundreds of dollars. If you're concerned about legality issues reflective windows are an option. Installing reflective windows could be in violation of the tint laws in Virginia. This is due to the fact that Virginia's tint law includes provisions that limit how reflective your windows can be. Your windows can't be more reflective than 20% both on the front and back.
The state of Virginia has various tint laws. Alongside controlling the film's transmittance Virginia law also prohibits the use of yellow, red, and amber tints. To apply any tint, you'll need to have a medical authorization. If you're cited for breaking the law, you could be charged with up to one year in prison. You may also face fines of as much as $96 for the initial offence. Repeat offenders may be fined up to 1000$.
Infractions to the law could be punishable with harsh sanctions
The window tint laws in Virginia, which were established in 1999, regulate the application and use of dark and reflective tints for vehicles. VLT stands for Visible light Transmittance and is available for various types of vehicles such as vans and sedans and SUVs. A tint should let more than 50% of natural light into regular passenger vehicles. Window tinting may not be allowed on other vehicles.
In Virginia the red, yellow, and amber tints are not legal for car windows. Additionally, the manufacturers of tint films are not required to certify the tint film they use to create these films. Prior to applying sun-shading or tinting on cars, drivers must have a medical authorization. If they violate the law, they could be penalized up to $110 and if they're found guilty and again, they could be sentenced to prison.
Address: 1122 US-130, Robbinsville Twp, NJ 08691, United States
Phone: +1 609-208-3901